History of the Province

Secret Monitor in Cheshire and North Wales

The Province of Cheshire & North Wales was formed by Grand Conclave in 1974 from the Province of Cheshire and Lancashire.
The Past Provincial Grand Supreme Rulers of the Province are:
1974 – 1985 R.Wy.Bro. Frederick Arthur White
1985 – 1992 R.Wy.Bro. Eric Raymond Ellams
1992 – 2000 R.Wy.Bro. Ian Neville Dixon
2000 – 2003 R.Wy.Bro. Osborne George Hughes
2003 – 2008 R.Wy.Bro. James McKeeman
2008 – 2012 R.Wy.Bro. Samuel James Keery
2012 – 2017 R.Wy.Bro. Iain Sinclair MacFarlane

The Order of the Secret Monitor currently has thirteen Conclaves in the Province. The Conclaves meet either 3 or 4 times a year.

The oldest Conclave, Verney Clayton No 45, meets at Timperley, Altrincham (currently meeting at Sale due to building development at Timperley) and was consecrated in February 1920.

The newest Conclave is Maen Achwyfan Conclave No 514, meeting at Mostyn, was consecrated on 19 April 2008 by Right Worthy Brother James McKeeman.

Conclaves meet at Altrincham, Macclesfield, Stockport, Middlewich, Runcorn, Wallasey, Christleton, Flint, Wrexham, Rhyl and Mostyn. Please see the Meeting Places area on this web site for full details.

Most Conclaves meet on a weekday evening. The older Conclaves tend to meet in the September to May season.

Dewi Sant Conclave meets in Rhyl during the day and has a fine dining lunch menu.

The Cheshire and North Wales Provincial Grand Officers Conclave No 302 was consecrated on 26 January 1980 by the then Provincial Grand Supreme Ruler, Right Worthy Brother Frederick Arthur White. Membership is open to any Provincial Officer of the Province by invitation from the Provincial Grand Supreme Ruler and his Deputy.

The Provincial Grand Supreme Ruler founded his Arch of Steel in 2013. The Arch of Steel act as his ceremonial bodyguard on special occasions, and members are drawn from Princes from throughout the Province.

Members of the Provincial Grand Supreme Ruler’s Arch of Steel are entitled to join the Arch of Steel Conclave No 377, which was reopened on 1 September 2014. (Was formerly Knutsford Conclave No 377)

Apart from occasional donations of a general charitable nature, Conclaves are encouraged to donate charitable funds to the Provincial Grand Supreme Ruler’s Benevolent Fund.
Two Conclaves each year are selected to nominate a local charity to receive a donation from the fund, which is hopefully matched by a donation from Grand Conclave.